toriscott2

Page Turning Stories from the Heart of Texas

Silver Linings

For this Author Monday we welcome Priscilla Kissinger, three time Golden Heart finalist and an author to watch. Welcome Priscilla!

2012 Golden Heart Finalist Priscilla Kissinger

Many many moons ago I finaled for the first time in the RWA Golden Heart® contest and was blessed to become part of a fabulous group of ladies known as the Wet Noodle Posse. I was much younger, much wetter behind the ears and not sure of how to make the most of my flash of success in the writing industry.

Several years later I finaled again, and became a member of the Pixies, another supportive group of ladies. But life had other priorities for me, and writing was once again set aside for other obligations.

Flash forward to 2012…my life is again in transition, but for the past 2 years I’ve been able to focus more on my writing. Make it more of a priority. And truth be told, my writing, my writing friends, my newfound commitment to my craft….well, they’ve all helped to keep me focused on the positives life can offer rather than the negative aspects I’m wading through.

So when the call came from RWA board member and fellow Wet Noodle Posse member Terry McLaughlin (http://www.terrymclaughlin.com/) letting me know my latest manuscript was a 2012 Golden Heart ® finalist (http://www.rwa.org/cs/2012_rita_and_gh_finalists#GHCSR), I heard the gates of heaven clang open and a choir of angels began to sing “Hallelujah!”

Okay, not really. I was substitute teaching at a local junior high so it was actually the lunch bell ringing and a pack of adolescents jabbering away in the hall. But in my imagination, it was all heaven and angels. J

So while I struggled to contain my giddiness, inside the butterflies zoomed in my chest, my heart sped up its pace, and my body literally shivered with excitement.

Many of us toil for years and years with little validation for our efforts. Writing is a solitary endeavor. Well, it can be unless you take the time to make connections with fellow authors. So you join groups like RWA, attend your local chapter meetings, travel to conferences… all so you can meet other people like you—those who speak to invisible characters like they’re real, create their own imaginary worlds, and speak the same romance lingo consisting of terms like GMC, point of view, and Big Black Moments.

Being a Golden Heart ® finalist for the third time is a blessing. And for me, it couldn’t have come at a better moment. A time when I needed to hear that my efforts haven’t been in vain. That if I keep on plugging away, my day in the sun will come.

Maybe I’m slogging through a difficult time right now in some areas, but there’s a silver lining around my world if I look close enough and pay attention, and that’s all I’ve got to focus on.

How about you? Any silver linings you care to share? Any light at the end of the tunnel moments that have pulled you through trying times?

The world of romance writing is all about happily ever afters. And some times, it’s all about the happily for right nows.

That’s what we have to celebrate. Well, that’s what I’m celebrating anyway. Care to join me?

Thanks for sharing your story, Priscilla. I admire your determination and wish you the best of luck in the final round!

Tori

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Silver Linings

  1. Hi guys! I’ve been called into work this morning and I’m not sure if I’ll be able to get onto the internet. My work day ends at 1:45, and I’ll head straight home to check in with everyone.

    Hope your morning goes well!!

    Pris

  2. Kathleen on said:

    Wonderful words, Pris. I can hardly wait to buy your first release. And it IS coming soon! We can all feel it. Here’s to a wonderful (cyber-glass held high) person whom I’m just beginning to get to know. Can’t wait to meet you in person in July!

  3. We’ll be here when you get back, Pris. Got to work whenever you can.

  4. terrio39 on said:

    What an inspiring post. I agree with Kathleen, you’re day is coming any moment now. And I totally understand the happy for right now. Life isn’t perfect, but it could be worse. One day at a time and each day since those GH calls went out has been a little better than the one before. Here’s to many more good days to come!

  5. Great post, Priscilla! Congrats on being a repeat Golden Heart finalist!! Validation from self and others is so important. Clearly, you have a fantastic future ahead!

  6. I hope to hear you are the GH winner. I wish I could be there to cheer you on.

  7. Kathleen, thanks for stopping by today! I tried to post earlier, but was having some trouble. I’m glad I was finally able to get “in” the comment section.

    I’m excited to meet you and the rest of the “gang” at National!

  8. Terrio39, I like the way you think– “here’s to many more good days to come!”

    I say, we get each morning determined to make it positive for ourselves and those who are around us! That’s the best we can do.

  9. Thanks, Tamara! A fantastic future sounds good to me. I know there are tough times around the corner. Life has a tendency to do that to you. But, I’m trying hard to see those tough times as opportunities for growth. And they make the good times that much better. 🙂

  10. prisakiss on said:

    Merrillee, I know you’re waiting for some exciting news for your family. I’m keeping you all in my prayers! Thanks for the support. It’s great to see a fellow Wet Noodle Posse member here along with Tori and me! 🙂

  11. theresaragan on said:

    Hi Pris! Great post! I think you have a wonderful attitude about life. I hope you WIN the Golden Heart this year. You deserve it.

  12. prisakiss on said:

    Thanks, Theresa. Seeing hard-working people like you finding success helps me stay motivated! You’re the poster child for perseverance paying off. It’s been a thrill watching you professionally make your way through the self-publishing arena, setting the bar high for those who come behind you.

    Honestly, what you’ve done is impressive! But it’s not a fluke– it’s hard work, dedication, keeping an open mind and a professional attitude. Congrats!!

  13. Congratulations, Priscilla! May your third time be the lucky one!

Leave a Reply

